Skip to content

Mover & Shakers: PM’s secretary overhaul

The latest senior public sector appointments from across the country.

Senior Executive Service

Band 1

Louise Amundsen

Three people have been promoted to senior executive lawyer at Australian Government Solicitor: Jonathan Hutton and Louise Amundsen in Sydney, and Melissa Gangemi inMelbourne.

Services Australia has two new national managers: Narelle Lovett from the Australian Financial Security Authority and nicole rudland from Department of Education, Skills and Employment.

Damian White has been promoted to branch head at Austrade.

Melissa Gangemi

Lisette Aarons has moved from the Australian Bureau of Statistics to become national manager, people and business solutions at the Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Center (AUSTRAC).

Several new secs of departments in bureaucratic shake-up

As reported in The MandarinPrime Minister Anthony Albanese has unveiled several new secretary appointments.

The newly formed Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water’s secretary will be David Frederickscoming from his position as secretary of the Department of Industry, Science and Resources.

Lisette Aarons

Jan Adams is taking over as secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, with the previous secretary Katherine Campbell taking a senior appointment in an AUKUS-related role.

At the Department of Employment and Workplace Relations, Natalie James has been named as secretary. doctor Michelle Bruniges will continue as secretary of the Department of Education.

Jenny Wilkinson is set to become secretary of the Department of Finance.

The new secretary at the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts is Jim Bett.

Additionally, Dr. Gordon de Brower has been appointed as secretary for public sector reform, an experienced public servant and academic.

Several changes at NSW anti-corruption committee

John Hatzistergos

NSW premier Dominic Perrottet has recommended former District Court judge and NSW attorney-general John Hatzistergos as the new chief commissioner of the NSW Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC).

Two others have been proposed as commissioners of ICAC: recently retired chief justice of the Supreme Court of the ACT Helen Murrell and district court judge and president of the Mental Health Review Tribunal Paul Lactos.

Perrottet said the proposed appointments bring a depth of experience to their positions.

“Judge Hatzistergos has experience as a barrister, a judge and in government as attorney general, and will come into the role as chief commissioner at a time when our government has boosted integrity agency funding and independence.

“The Honorable Helen Murrell and the Honorable Paul Lakatos also have incredible expertise in a range of roles and responsibilities, and I am confident they will bring great understanding, foresight and integrity to their new positions,” Perrottet said.

The nominated persons have been put to the Joint Parliamentary Committee on the Independent Commission Against Corruption, who have 14 days to veto the proposals.

Bruce McClintock

Meanwhile, Gail Furness has been named inspector of the NSW ICAC and Bruce McClintock has been appointed inspector of the Law Enforcement Conduct Commission (LECC).

Both begin five-year terms on July 1.

NSW attorney-general Mark Speakman congratulated both on their respective appointments, saying they each brought knowledge and experience.

Speakman also thanked outgoing inspector of LECC Terry Buddin and McClintock for the work he had done as inspector of ICAC, his previous role.

Former attorney-general joins ANU as national security professor

The high commissioner to the UK and former attorney-general George Brandis has joined the Australian National University (ANU).

Brandis will be a professor in the practice of national security, based in the National Security College in the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific, and will also teach at the ANU College of Law.

The role commences July 1, with a focus on national security, law and policy.

Brandis was a Queensland senator from 2000 to 2018, and served under the John Howard, Tony Abbott and Malcolm Turnbull governments.

Reserve Bank of Australia names assistant governor

Brad Jones has been named the new assistant governor, financial system group at the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA).

Jones will oversee the RBA’s work on financial system stability and its role in payments system oversight and regulation.

His most recent role was at the RBA as head of economic analysis department, having joined the organization as head of international department in 2018. Jones has previously worked internationally in Washington DC, London, and Hong Kong.

First female president of Vic Court of Appeal

Karin Emerton

Justice Karin Emerton has been appointed the first female president of the Victorian Court of Appeal.

Emerton is an experienced judge, having served as a judge on the Court of Appeal since 2018, and was previously a judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria from 2009.

Victoria’s attorney-general, Jaclyn Symes, congratulated the judge on her new role.

“She brings impressive legal experience and significant knowledge to the role of President, which puts her in an excellent place to make a strong contribution,” Symes said.

Symes also thanked outgoing president Chris Maxwellwho recently announced his retirement.

Two new judges appointed to NSW Supreme Court

District Court judge dina yehia and barrister Dr. Nicholas Chen have been appointed judges of the Supreme Court of NSW.

NSW attorney-general Mark Speakman said the NSW justice system is fortunate to have the two become judges.

“Her Honor Judge Yehia has enormous experience in criminal law and has long campaigned for social justice. Dr Chen brings a wealth of experience in commercial and common law, medical negligence matters, and inquiries and inquiries.

“These appointments will further strengthen the Supreme Court bench and ensure our judiciary continues to reflect the NSW community that it serves,” Speakman said.

Chair and board member named for WA venues board

A new chair and a new board member have joined VenuesWest, which oversees Western Australia’s premier sport and entertainment venues.

Mary Anne Stephens has been named chair, and Gary Dreibergs you have joined as a board member.

WA minister for sport and recreation David Templeman congratulated both on the news.

“Both appointments bring a wealth of relevant knowledge and experience to the VenuesWest board, and I am confident they will continue the great work of the board,” Templeman said.

The minister also thanked Graham Goerke for his time on the board.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.